Frequently Asked Questions

Who is eligible to serve as a juror?

Citizens 18 years of age or older, who are residents for at least 30 days of the state and of the city, town or county in which they are called for jury duty, and who are citizens of the United States are eligible for jury service. Jurors are selected from a combined list of registered voters, licensed drivers and holders of Montana ID cards.

Jurors are drawn using the Full Court Jury software that is administered by the Montana Supreme Court Administrators office. Each year in July a pool of 650 Beaverhead County residents are notified that they are in the District Court juror pool through the following July. From that pool potential trial jurors are drawn for each trial throughout the year. The jury service term commences August 1 and ends July 30 each year.

What happens if I ignore my summons for jury service?

A jury summons is a court order. If you ignore it you are subject to arrest and sanctions.

Will I serve on a jury if called for trial?

Maybe. Sometimes cases are settled before trial date. If so, you will be notified. Also, extra people are called to allow for persons who should not serve on a particular case.

How long do most trials take?

Trials typically last from one to three days. On occasion, they might last longer.

Can my employer tell me not to serve?

No. The law requires employers to allow an employee to serve as a juror. The law also prohibits an employer from depriving an employee of benefits because of jury service, such as requiring you to use vacation or personal time to serve.

Is my employer required to pay me while I serve as a juror?

If you work for the government, your employer must pay you. If you work in the private sector, your employer is not required to pay you.

Will I be paid for serving as a juror?

Yes. You will receive \$12.00 for reporting for jury duty plus mileage. If you serve on a jury, you will receive an additional \$13.00 the first day and \$25.00 per day thereafter plus mileage.

What if I am disabled?

If you have a disability, please contact the Clerk of District Court in advance of the trial date so that your needs can be accommodated.